Amparo Bertram (spacealien_vamp) wrote,
Amparo Bertram

The joys of dietary restrictions...

When I booked my airline reservations for my flight to Japan, the website would not allow me to choose a vegetarian meal. Instead, it said that I would have to make that request by phone. Since my flight is coming up soon, I thought now would be a good time for my meal request, so I called this morning. The poor customer service person was so befuddled.

Me: I would like to request the vegetarian meal.

Her: Let's could have Vegetarian-Hindu, Vegetarian-Raw, or Vegetarian-Vegan.

Me: ...Um, isn't there just plain vegetarian? I'm not vegan, I'm not Hindu, and I do eat cooked food.

Her: Well, raw just means that if they serve other people salad, then you'll get one too.

Me: <thinking about how crazy I would be if served only salad on the plane> No, it doesn't. There are people who only eat raw food, not cooked. I am not one of those people.

Her: ...

Me: Sometimes they call it ovo-lacto? Because I eat eggs and drink milk?

Her: Oh, yes, there's one of those. Lacto-ovo.

Me: <sigh of relief> I'll take that one.

Although I am really curious what the Hindu meal would have been on a flight to Japan. Maybe I should have asked for that.
  • Post a new comment


    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened